jo ann manolis photography

Welcome to the blog of Jo Ann Manolis Photography! I’m a wedding, portrait, and fine art photographer based in Santa Cruz, CA. I’ve created this blog as a means of sharing my work and life with my clients, family, and friends. I’ll be updating it regularly with my latest work, thoughts and ideas regarding photography and art, and links to many fabulous artists and vendors. So, take a look around, enjoy, and leave me a message here if you’re inspired. I can also be reached directly by e-mail via my website: joannmanolisphotography.com, or by phone at: (831)359-7948. Thanks for stopping by!

Art Classes at Blue Apple Studios!

ba_blog1.jpg

I’m beyond excited to announce that I’ll be teaching a 6-week Polaroid Transfer class at Blue Apple Studios in Aptos. As much as I love digital photography, I’ve deeply missed getting my hands dirty and creating something tangeble, something that I can smell and touch and see somewhere other than on a computer screen. Something, well…real!

Blue Apple’s owner, the amazing and crazy-talented Cayce (who my faithful blog readers will remember from a family portrait session back in November) has asked me to teach a class in which we will experiment with all aspects of Polaroid Transfers: printing, manipulating, painting…the options are unlimited, really. I’m honored that she has asked me to teach at the Studio. Teaching kids about photography and art has always been a dream of mine, one of those “I’d love to do that one day” things. Thanks, Cayce for bringing this gift to me.

Here are some images that I grabbed today of the exquisitely funky and beautiful Blue Apple:

Located in Redwood Village in Aptos, Blue Apple could not be more charming…
ba_blog2.jpg

ba_blog3.jpg

Some shots of the interior. Check out the awesome floors and the gorgeous natural light.
ba_blog4.jpg

Some amazingly talented young artists attend Blue Apple.
ba_blog5.jpg

ba_blog_9.jpg

And Cayce’s painting. This is actually a detail of several canvases hung together. She said that this was the inspiration for the Studio.
ba_blog10.jpg

Anyone want to paint?
ba_blog11.jpg

I couldn’t resist this one.
ba_blog6.jpg

Or this one…
ba_blog7.jpg

I got this one by laying down in the doorway with my 15mm fisheye lens.
ba_blog12.jpg

This place would’ve been a dream-come-true for me when I was growing up.
ba_blog13.jpg

For me, Polaroid Transfers are the perfect combination of photography and fine art. I’m looking forward to seeing what these talented young artists come up with. The class begins this Friday (Feb 15th) and goes for 6 weeks. I’ll be posting some examples of our Polaroid Transfer work and updates from the class so check back!

For some examples of my Polaroid Transfers, check out the fine art (alternative processes) section of my website.

Blue Apple Studios can be contacted at: (831) 662-8877

Leave a Reply

