jo ann manolis photography

Welcome to the blog of Jo Ann Manolis Photography! I’m a wedding, portrait, and fine art photographer based in Santa Cruz, CA. I’ve created this blog as a means of sharing my work and life with my clients, family, and friends. I’ll be updating it regularly with my latest work, thoughts and ideas regarding photography and art, and links to many fabulous artists and vendors. So, take a look around, enjoy, and leave me a message here if you’re inspired. I can also be reached directly by e-mail via my website: joannmanolisphotography.com, or by phone at: (831)359-7948. Thanks for stopping by!

Blue Apple Studios: week 3

I’m just now posting some images from last Friday’s class. It was an exciting one because the artists were able to work with their own images. I sent their digital images to slides.com, an online company that turns jpegs and other digital files to slides. (Slides.com did an awesome job and the turnaround time was impressive. I highly recommend them if anyone is looking for this service!) Using the slide of their images, the artists went to work making transfers. Here is what they came up with:

Beau took this image at Land of Medicine Buddha
beau1_blog.jpg

…and reproduced it five times in a row here!
blog_1beau_series.jpg

I love this image that Ethan captured…
ethan1_blog.jpg

…and I also love the way that he stacked them up here. (Pay no attention to my fingers in this shot, and don’t worry…I am a complete professional;)
ethan2_blog.jpg

Gabby’s red flowers really “pop”.
gabby1_blog.jpg

She intentionally made the emulsion pull off in the last image in this series, which I thought was really cool.
gabby2_blog.jpg

And Isabel’s daffodil, I love the composition of this one, it is so graphic and fun.
isabelle1_blog.jpg

isabelle2_blog.jpg

Gillian used one of my slides, but will be doing her own soon, I really like the fact that two are upside-down, another happy accident. We’ll be working further with these multiple images this coming Friday. I cannot give the project away in its entirety, but…..think Andy Warhol!
gillian2_blog.jpg

We had some time left over, so we did a little experimanting. Isabel found that transfers look awesome on paper towels!exp1.jpg

We also experimented with manipulating the images by dragging and/or twisting them as we transfered them onto the paper.
exp3.jpg

I love this one, it came out looking like a watercolor painting.
exp2.jpg

Impressive, huh? Check back next week for the results of our “image series” projects!

2 responses to “Blue Apple Studios: week 3

  1. Katie March 6, 2008 at 5:11 am

    Wow, I wish I could fly out from DC and come take classes from you. You have some very talented students there (of course, their teacher is pretty cool too!)

  2. joannmanolisphotography March 12, 2008 at 10:57 am

    Katie,

    Thanks so much for the comment, and for reading my blog! You are awesome. I miss you!

    Love,

    Jo Ann

Leave a Reply

