jo ann manolis photography

Welcome to the blog of Jo Ann Manolis Photography! I’m a wedding, portrait, and fine art photographer based in Santa Cruz, CA. I’ve created this blog as a means of sharing my work and life with my clients, family, and friends. I’ll be updating it regularly with my latest work, thoughts and ideas regarding photography and art, and links to many fabulous artists and vendors. So, take a look around, enjoy, and leave me a message here if you’re inspired. I can also be reached directly by e-mail via my website: joannmanolisphotography.com, or by phone at: (831)359-7948. Thanks for stopping by!

Blue Apple Studios Week 4: Warhol-Inspired Project

I’m a bit behind on my posts this week as I’m getting ready to leave for the WPPI convention in Las Vegas (more on that tomorrow).

For now, I’d like to backtrack and post some of last week’s images from the Polaroid Transfer class that I’m teaching at Blue Apple Studios. Last week, each artist worked with his/her series of transfers and altered each one…enough so that each image looked different, but without losing the feel of the original image.

As an example, I shared Andy Warhol’s Marilyn Monroe images with the class. We talked about how, at a glance, the images all look identical. As we looked closer, however, each image was different. Sometimes Marilyn’s eye shadow was simply in a different place, sometimes her lips were black instead of red, and sometimes the entire image was a darker tone. I encouraged the artists to be as obvious or subtle as they wanted, but to make sure that the viewer could still recognize that the original images in the series were the same.

I thought I’d also mention that the following images were all actually photographed by the artists.

Isabel’s before:
isabelle2_blog.jpg

And after:
isabel1.jpg

A closer look:
isabel2.jpg

isabel3.jpg

isabel4.jpg

The watercolor paint “spilling” out of the frame really adds to this one!
isabel5.jpg

Beau’s before:
blog_1beau_series.jpg

And after:
beau1.jpg

Amazing colors!
beau2.jpg

beau3.jpg

beau4.jpg

beau5.jpg

Ethan’s before:
ethan2_blog.jpg

and after: Ethan’s mom whisked this piece away to be framed!
ethan1.jpg

I love that Ethan chose not to alter the first image in his series, as it is simply gorgeous. The truth is that none of these images really need altering, but it’s always fun to push things and to see where it leads…
ethan2.jpg

ethan3.jpg

ethan4.jpg

Gabby’s before:
gabby2_blog.jpg

and after:
gabby1.jpg

I really like the way that this series flows.
gabby2.jpg

gabby3.jpg

gabby4.jpg

gabby5.jpg

This photograph by Lauren makes a simply stunning Polaroid Transfer:
lauren1.jpg

Tune in next week to see how Lauren adds her Warhol touch to this series:
lauren2.jpg

This image is a photograph of Austin’s cat. In Photoshop, we cropped it to just a patch of fur on the cat’s head. I can’t wait to show you what becomes of this abstract piece!
austin1.jpg

I cannot express how much I’ve been enjoying teaching this class, I look forward to Fridays even more now! Check back next week to see more work by more artists!

Leave a Reply

