jo ann manolis photography

Welcome to the blog of Jo Ann Manolis Photography! I’m a wedding, portrait, and fine art photographer based in Santa Cruz, CA. I’ve created this blog as a means of sharing my work and life with my clients, family, and friends. I’ll be updating it regularly with my latest work, thoughts and ideas regarding photography and art, and links to many fabulous artists and vendors. So, take a look around, enjoy, and leave me a message here if you’re inspired. I can also be reached directly by e-mail via my website: joannmanolisphotography.com, or by phone at: (831)359-7948. Thanks for stopping by!

…back in town

Greetings!

c1_15.jpg

A quick update for the parents of my Blue Apple Artists: Todays class (3/21) is cancelled as it is officially spring break and nearly half of us will be out of town. Safe travels and a wonderful journey to each of you! The make-up class is scheduled for Friday, April 11th at the usual time. I look forward to seeing you all again. Stay tuned for some more Blue Apple updates…rumor has it that I may be teaching another Polaroid Transfer class soon!

wppi_logo1.jpg

I arrived home on Wednesday evening feeling both exhausted and energized from my first WPPI convention. I had an unbelievable time and I’m so happy to write that I met every single goal that I showed up with (with the exception of the bubble bath, that was just a bit unrealistic I’m afraid…). I’ll be posting some examples of what I took away from the conference in the very near future, so keep checking in!

I’m probably at risk of sounding like a completely obsessive and overly-driven geek, but I wanted to share something:

I spent the short flight back to San Jose reading over my notes (I’m a frivolous note-taker, I must admit) and based upon these notes I then formulated a fairly long list of goals for both myself and for my photography.

Next, I categorized the list and even assigned a date to each goal, some goals are to be met within the month and others within the year. I really wanted to list my goals while they were still fresh in my mind and while the experience and inspiration of WPPI were still real. I didn’t want to return to my routine, get busy with daily life, and let it all fade away. Instead, I wanted to make something of it all.

I’m sharing this because I cannot tell you how incredibly satisfying it has been to process things in this way! In about 90 minutes I took what felt overwhelming and confusing and streamlined it into (if all goes well) less than a year of clearly defined work. I cannot recommend this type of exercise more and it seems to me that it would work in any facet of ones life. For me, things are always simplified when they’re written down.

As I mentioned before, I’ll be sharing some of these goals here on my blog as I achieve them, so keep visiting me! It’s all very exciting…

I wish all of you a wonderful holiday weekend!

One response to “…back in town

  1. Argie March 25, 2008 at 5:03 pm

    I’m so glad the conference went so well and sorry I haven’t talked to you since you got back. Phone tag sucks! This is indeed a really good idea–I wish I could get that organized with my goals!

Leave a Reply

