jo ann manolis photography

Welcome to the blog of Jo Ann Manolis Photography! I’m a wedding, portrait, and fine art photographer based in Santa Cruz, CA. I’ve created this blog as a means of sharing my work and life with my clients, family, and friends. I’ll be updating it regularly with my latest work, thoughts and ideas regarding photography and art, and links to many fabulous artists and vendors. So, take a look around, enjoy, and leave me a message here if you’re inspired. I can also be reached directly by e-mail via my website: joannmanolisphotography.com, or by phone at: (831)359-7948. Thanks for stopping by!

Aza at Cayuga Vault

I’m still catching up on my blogging, and definitely could not skip this one, I absolutely love these guys!

After Kim and Steve’s wedding in Aptos a few weeks ago, I stopped home to eat dinner and switch some lenses, and then headed to Santa Cruz to photograph Fattah and Mohamed’s performance at the Cayuga Vault. As always, they did not disappoint, leaving the audience completely mesmerized.

Mohamed

Fattah

The show took place at the fabulous Cayuga Vault in Santa Cruz. I love it when a venue perfectly compliments the music. Cayuga Vault offered a warm and intimate setting for this traditional and heartfelt show.

The captive audience. I love the woman dancing on the left.

Both Fattah and Mohamed donned traditional Amazigh clothing and played music from their latest album. Part of their ongoing efforts as musicians is to raise awareness of their native Amazigh (Indigenous people of Northern Africa) culture.

I was going for a vintage feel on these. There is something about this image that I absolutely love.

Fattah and Mohamed invited their Aza bandmates onto the stage for the last few songs. I have photographed these guys a few times before and it was really nice to see and hear them again.

Pete on bass:

Kevin the percussionist:

A fisheye view of so much amazing talent on one stage.

Fattah weaves humor, history, and personal stories into his song introductions. His amazing rapport with the audience is always obvious.

This image of Mohamed was shot at a nice slow shutter speed. I love action blur.

For me, this image captures the pure joy of making music. As a photographer, there is no greater gift or honor than the opportunity to capture people being themselves and doing what they love.

To learn more about Aza, check out their schedule of upcoming performances, or to purchase one of their CD’s, visit their website: azamusic.com.

Fattah, Muhamad, Aza, and Diane: Thank you for having me. Words cannot express how much I loved being present for this awesome performance. You guys are just amazing! Thank you also to the wonderful staff at Cayuga Vault for their warm welcome.

Leave a Reply

