jo ann manolis photography

Welcome to the blog of Jo Ann Manolis Photography! I’m a wedding, portrait, and fine art photographer based in Santa Cruz, CA. I’ve created this blog as a means of sharing my work and life with my clients, family, and friends. I’ll be updating it regularly with my latest work, thoughts and ideas regarding photography and art, and links to many fabulous artists and vendors. So, take a look around, enjoy, and leave me a message here if you’re inspired. I can also be reached directly by e-mail via my website: joannmanolisphotography.com, or by phone at: (831)359-7948. Thanks for stopping by!

Jesh De Rox Fine Art Textures

I’m so excited because I’ve just purchased the most awesome textures from the amazing Jesh De Rox, a wedding photographer from Canada. I heard Jesh speak at WPPI in March and was so heartened to hear about his sincere approach to wedding photography. Instead of posing his couples as if they’re modeling for a fashion magazine, he says that he shows up at each wedding as if he has never seen one before and tries to capture the true emotions and essence of the couple. I love this approach and have always tried to do the same thing. I want my images to capture the actual moment. The true and honest and real moment. What is more beautiful than that?

Anyhow, I stayed up late, watched Jesh’s instructional video, and played around with some textures using images from Megan and Danny’s wedding last July. Here are my first attempts at using them:

I love this image because we were just getting set up for family portraits and I was getting myself situated and waiting to direct Megan’s family as to where to stand. They were waiting around and had no idea that I snapped this. I added three different textures here. I love the way that the textures enhance this already romantic scene, one of their first moments alone as a married couple…

Here is the kiss with three or four (I lost count) textures.

The same image converted to black and white. Note to photographers: there are over 30 textures to choose from, so the possibilities are endless. Best of all, they are insanely easy to use!

Megan and Danny had a Celtic Hand-Tying ritual in their wedding ceremony. Again, I layered a few different textures in order to achieve this effect.

They were pretty eager to join their guests and they took off running to the dance floor when the portrait session was over. I snapped the next two as they ran off.

I love the rich and timeless look that the textures give this one.

OK, It’s 1:25 AM and I’m off to bed. I’ll be sharing more adventures with Jesh’s textures again soon. Before I sign off, I’d like to share his website: jeshderox.com It is worth a look (even if you’re not a photographer or looking for a photographer). Check it out, you’ll be glad that you did! Photographers, to learn more about or to purchase these textures, CLICK HERE. I love and appreciate it when artists share their knowledge and talents…peaceful dreams, everyone!

Leave a Reply

