jo ann manolis photography

Welcome to the blog of Jo Ann Manolis Photography! I’m a wedding, portrait, and fine art photographer based in Santa Cruz, CA. I’ve created this blog as a means of sharing my work and life with my clients, family, and friends. I’ll be updating it regularly with my latest work, thoughts and ideas regarding photography and art, and links to many fabulous artists and vendors. So, take a look around, enjoy, and leave me a message here if you’re inspired. I can also be reached directly by e-mail via my website: joannmanolisphotography.com, or by phone at: (831)359-7948. Thanks for stopping by!

A Relaxed Family Portrait Session (my favorite kind!)

On Saturday, I had the pleasure of spending some time with Jake and Addie, their parents, grandmother, and two older cousins. I love this family! We did the entire session in the backyard, and as you can see, it was casual, relaxed, and very joyful.

I got some great shots of the adults, but decided to focus on the children in this post.

We started out with the girls, aren’t they gorgeous?

I’d like to point out that I did NO prompting whatsoever with these sisters, aside from telling them where to sit. The love was just there…

The Love was everywhere, actually…

This is Jake. He and Dino have been spending time together at Laurie’s house for almost 2 years now. Dino is crazy about Jake and was sad that he couldn’t come along on Saturday, although he has been enjoying these images!

And here is Jake’s big sister, the adorable Addie.

I just love this series (again, no prompting, just love…)



Nani is fun to be around, I can tell!


The definition of a relaxed portrait.

Elisabeth (and everyone in these photos), Thank you so much for having me! It was an honor to be around your beautiful family and to photograph so much Love in action…you guys are amazing!

2 responses to “A Relaxed Family Portrait Session (my favorite kind!)

  1. patti wilson May 28, 2008 at 10:01 pm

    you are a true artist, these photos are simply wonderful!

  2. joannmanolisphotography May 30, 2008 at 10:40 pm

    Patti!

    Thank you for the incredibly kind words. I just loved taking these photos!

    With much gratitude,

    Jo Ann

Leave a Reply

