jo ann manolis photography

Welcome to the blog of Jo Ann Manolis Photography! I’m a wedding, portrait, and fine art photographer based in Santa Cruz, CA. I’ve created this blog as a means of sharing my work and life with my clients, family, and friends. I’ll be updating it regularly with my latest work, thoughts and ideas regarding photography and art, and links to many fabulous artists and vendors. So, take a look around, enjoy, and leave me a message here if you’re inspired. I can also be reached directly by e-mail via my website: joannmanolisphotography.com, or by phone at: (831)359-7948. Thanks for stopping by!

Light and Fast Seminar w/ John Mireles and Jules Bianchi

I did another really cool thing while I was in L.A. last week. Two top wedding photographers from Southern California, John Mireles and Jules Bianchi, teamed up and put on the Light and Fast seminar on Thursday, which focused on off camera lighting. I loved this seminar and learned so much. Check out these two photographers, they are truly awesome.

Here is John doing an outdoor lighting demo. He was showing us how to use off-camera lighting to soften the harsh mid day sun.

There was this really cool graffiti wall just outside of the classroom.

Some students were modeling while others were holding reflectors and lights. I on the other hand, was photographing the whole scene and was no help at all!

John does quite a bit of commercial work and shared some great lighting secrets with us.

I love watching other photographers work, I learn so much and get really inspired.

And here is Jules having fun during John’s demo. She was so kind and super-cute! She reminded me so much of my fabulous pal Steph!

Jules had a really great off-camera lighting set-up that I think I’m going to try. Here she is demonstrating how to set it all up.


And then we all crowded around and looked at the results, this is why I love digital!

John and Jules, thank you so much for sharing your knowledge and experiences with all of us. I’ll admit that I was pretty intimidated by the concept of lighting off-camera, but you both really broke things down and made it seem doable. I loved picking your brains and asking endless questions…you guys are awesome!

One response to “Light and Fast Seminar w/ John Mireles and Jules Bianchi

  1. Jules Bianchi June 17, 2008 at 12:38 am

    Jo Ann!!! We were so happy to have you! Thank you so much for the wonderful props on your blog.

Leave a Reply

