jo ann manolis photography

Welcome to the blog of Jo Ann Manolis Photography! I’m a wedding, portrait, and fine art photographer based in Santa Cruz, CA. I’ve created this blog as a means of sharing my work and life with my clients, family, and friends. I’ll be updating it regularly with my latest work, thoughts and ideas regarding photography and art, and links to many fabulous artists and vendors. So, take a look around, enjoy, and leave me a message here if you’re inspired. I can also be reached directly by e-mail via my website: joannmanolisphotography.com, or by phone at: (831)359-7948. Thanks for stopping by!

Annie & Jonathan’s Country Wedding, the Wedding Day Post!

Here is the post y’all have been waiting so patiently for…

Before I show you the images, however, I’d like to share the list of amazing vendors who made this wedding day so brilliant:

Flawless Wedding Coordination: Robin & Matt of Oak Lodge; Bride’s Gown: Michelle Roth; Bridesmaids’ dresses: J Crew; Venue: Oak Lodge; Catering, Bar, and Rentals: Elegant Catering; Brewery: Harpoon Lager; Cake: Burd’s Bakery; Flowers: T. Cumberledge Floral; Hair: From Head to Toe Spa; Invitations: Heather Toupin; Calligraphy: Jill Velez; Cocktail Hour Music: Pitt Jazz Ensemble; Reception Music: Groove Doctors.

The wedding day started out with a Yoga class instructed by the groom. He was amazing.

The amount of thought that went into this entire weekend was truly unbelievable, there were even pony rides for the kids!

And a John Deere Gator Parade through some of the trails on the property.

One of my favorite people at the wedding was Oak Lodge employee, Donut John! He lead the Gator parades and even offered guests an impromptu history lecture. He was fantastic! D.J. was a baker for 20 years before he came to work at the Lodge, and because the property manager’s name is also John, he was given this nickname, which stuck!

While I was shooting details on the main property, Kevin went to the Lake Party and got some amazing shots.

The Gators arriving at Lake Phyllis.

My absolute favorite, hands down:

I love a bride who jumps in a lake just a few hours before saying “I do”!

On my way down to meet the bride, I ran into the bridesmaids and Wade decorating the getaway car…

…and I couldn’t resist this self portrait.

Let me guess…a college friend’s hybrid?

And then I found Annie! Angela of From Head To Toe Spa was so amazing! Everyone’s hair looked gorgeous.

The Bridesmaids were all such wonderful women, I simply adored them.

I like grabbing some creative portraits of Bridesmaids at they prepare:

When I shoot weddings, I have this thing about something old, new, borrowed, and blue. Particularly the blue part. I’d love to someday make a book of all of my “something blue” images. This is one of the most original ones yet, a blue pom pom for the rear view mirror!

Annie’s Michelle Roth Wedding Gown blew my mind.

I just love the look on her face here.

I’m just going to play this one off as if it’s a normal wedding day image.

A sucker for detail shots…

I was inspired by the 1950’s feel of Annie’s gown and decided to create a little series with a vintage feel.

I was so impressed by the way that Annie seamlessly combined whimsy and sophistication into her wedding day. This inspired me to get creative and try something new. I photographed a detail of Annie’s fabulous gown, toned it, and then layered it onto a few portraits, creating a textured effect.

Meanwhile, Kevin was with Jonathan and the guys. I love the next three images that he captured:


The Wedding Officiant was the mayor of Ligonier, which I thought was perfect.

I love this image that Kevin captured of Annie. I think that she looks so beautiful.

I just loved the nostalgic look and feel of this entire day.

When I photograph a couple fresh from their wedding ceremony, I make a conscious effort to hang back for the first few minutes and let them have some time together, to relish their first moments as husband and wife. I often get the best images during this time as they are always honest and spontaneous.

(note the blue pom pom!)

Annie and Jonathan, thank you! It has been my honor to share your wedding with you both. Your love for one another is as charming as the town of Ligonier, as vast and beautiful as the view from the Red Barn, and as powerful as, well, a John Deere Gator! May you always continue smiling at one another.

With Love,

Jo

9 responses to “Annie & Jonathan’s Country Wedding, the Wedding Day Post!

  1. Robin Hegan August 27, 2008 at 11:15 am

    Jo and Kevin,
    One word….Amazing! Matt and I are simply blown away by the moments and places captured by your artistic eyes. Wow!
    It was a pleasure to meet you both.

  2. Butch Bellas August 28, 2008 at 4:30 am

    It was one of the most fun weddings! I was so taken by the song that was sung during the ceromony, I forgot the exchanging of the rings part and the look on Annie’s face was priceless, she is one young lady that is organized and I missed the cue and was cutting right to the chase. Talk about embarrassing moments!! I did get it right eventually and everyone laughed and that relived some of the stress, whew!!!

  3. DonutJohn September 1, 2008 at 1:02 pm

    Jo Ann
    Matt and Robin told me about your site. I have to say amazing pictures. You and Kevin have captured some true pics of Oak Lodge.

  4. Annie O September 2, 2008 at 12:13 am

    My favorite day ever! And you and Kevin could not have done a more perfect job capturing every fun moment in all its sunshiney, saturated-color glory. What a true blessing it was to have your playful energy by my side during this weekend, Jo. Thank you!

  5. Christina September 2, 2008 at 7:01 am

    Once again I am blown away by your talent… SERIOUSLY, you are the best photographer I’ve ever seen. You did such an incredible job of capturing each moment and the emotion that went along with them. AWESOME!! I’m so proud of you!! Love you!

  6. Mill September 3, 2008 at 5:54 pm

    Jo, your pix have Got the Goods!!!!!!!!! The wedding pix are absolutely amazing! It was such a fun wedding weekend! Keep cheesin’ on the pix!

  7. Lisa Gopman September 4, 2008 at 12:39 am

    JoAnn- These pictures are incredible!! Not only do I feel like I was there(and it looks like a blast!) but I also feel like I am looking at EXTRAORDINARY art. I LOVE the ones where you used the details of her dress in the pictures. They are BEAUTIFUL. And…I would SO buy a book of something blue! You should do it. You are such an amazing artist. P.S. I, too, recently learned about the fun of Karaoke! SO…I don’t know…maybe we could have some beer and Moloko Karaoke next time you are in LA? P.P.S. Kevin did an awesome job too!

  8. Terry D. Cumberledge September 5, 2008 at 12:22 pm

    Jo Ann,

    You are more than talented…you are gifted. Thank you for your terrific photos of Anne’s wedding. You make our flowers look amazing…they were beautiful and you bring them to life again with your camera. Thanks for coming into the shop to catch a few shots. Please let us know how to purchase a couple for our portfolio. We’d be proud to share your work with our clients. Terry and Karen

  9. Jenn September 10, 2008 at 9:36 pm

    Jo Ann-
    my favorite is the wedding rings on the flower, with the bride in the tub a close second. Great photos, makes me want to get married again.
    -jenn

Leave a Reply

