jo ann manolis photography

Welcome to the blog of Jo Ann Manolis Photography! I’m a wedding, portrait, and fine art photographer based in Santa Cruz, CA. I’ve created this blog as a means of sharing my work and life with my clients, family, and friends. I’ll be updating it regularly with my latest work, thoughts and ideas regarding photography and art, and links to many fabulous artists and vendors. So, take a look around, enjoy, and leave me a message here if you’re inspired. I can also be reached directly by e-mail via my website: joannmanolisphotography.com, or by phone at: (831)359-7948. Thanks for stopping by!

Some Announcements:

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO MY BLOG!

This blog has officially been up for one year and I feel overwhelmed with gratitude as what began as a simple addition to my website has blossomed into an amazing community of friends. Thank you for being here, it means the world to me. As promised, I’ll be giving away some anniversary goodies in celebration!

Here’s the deal:

I get quite a bit of traffic on my blog on a daily basis but very few comments…so I decided to try something fun. Regardless of whether you check in daily, monthly, or have stumbled upon my little blog for the very first time today, I want to hear from you! Leave your name and where you’re from and I’ll randomly select two iTunes gift card winners. Winners will be announced on Friday, September 5th, so check back then to see if you’re the lucky winner of some free music! Anyone who comments on this post can win these, so pass on the good word!

E-MAIL ISSUES:

My work e-mail has been down for nearly two days. Everything is back up to speed now, but if you e-mailed me within the last couple of days and have not received a reply, please try again. Thanks in advance and my apologies for the inconvenience!

POLAROID TRANSFER CLASSES FOR KIDS AND GROWN-UPS:

My fall class schedule at Blue Apple Studios in Aptos will be finalized this weekend, so look for an official announcement early next week. Polaroid may not be making 669 film anymore, but I’ve been stockpiling something fierce!

SHOP FOR A GOOD CAUSE…

My dear friend Amy at Peek, aren’t you curious is sponsoring an auction on her blog for a friend and her husband who were involved in a serious plane crash recently and remain hospitalized and in critical condition. Amy is generously auctioning off several of Peek’s amazing children’s outfits, books, and a even a Like a Bike! 100% of the profits will go to recovery and family expenses (the couple has four small children).

Here is one of the adorable outfits being auctioned off:

For more information on the auction, or to view all of the prizes and offer your bid, CLICK HERE, drop Amy a line and name a price! Amy, you rock!

I leave you with a few new images from a shoot last weekend.

Peace to you this weekend. Oh, yes…and don’t forget to leave a comment!

15 responses to “Some Announcements:

  1. niv August 31, 2008 at 5:12 am

    Hi Jo Ann,
    My name is Niv and I’m from Israel.
    I loved the pics in your blog. I especially liked “blog_haircut5.jpg”, it is so cute 🙂

    Thanks,
    Niv Ben-Porath

  2. john September 1, 2008 at 12:08 am

    hi there,
    i enjoyed the variety of photos on your site, particularly the most recent wedding.
    looking forward to my gift card!
    cheerio,
    j.

  3. Kimmy B. September 1, 2008 at 12:15 am

    Happy b-day to your blog. I love checking in on you!

    xo-
    Kimmy

  4. Steve H. September 1, 2008 at 11:48 pm

    Nice work, my friend.
    -Steve H. from San Francisco, CA

  5. Annie O September 1, 2008 at 11:59 pm

    Congrats on the anniversary, Jo Ann. It’s no small feat to get a small business up and running and to have it thriving as yours is. It’s a tribute to your talent behind the camera, with people, and with organizing it all. I couldn’t be more thrilled for you!

  6. Martha Stewart aka Pat September 2, 2008 at 6:29 am

    Jo-
    Your website/blog is the bomb and your photos rock. I continued to be amazed by your talent and hard work. This is the first anniversary of many many years to come… I am so happy that you have found a career that you love and one that you are completely awesome at!!!

  7. Christina September 2, 2008 at 7:12 am

    Best site ever! Do you realize you’re a star??? YOU ARE!! I’m going to pass this on to everyone I know!

  8. Karin September 2, 2008 at 7:23 am

    I absolutely love your photos. They’re great!

  9. joannmanolisphotography September 3, 2008 at 12:47 am

    Thank you, everyone! Keep the comments coming, you just might win some music!

  10. Lia Spithas Fresty September 3, 2008 at 7:31 am

    i really love the photos of the destination wedding. Great shots that capture the moment…and that dress. Love.

    Happy Birthday Iak & Stak….that boy is only 4 years old?

  11. Merrie September 3, 2008 at 2:54 pm

    Congratulations, Jo Ann! It was great meeting you at Annie’s big celebrations a few weeks ago, and I absolutely think you captured the spirit of the weekend so amazingly well. I loved your recent karaoke post and those shots, as well as the wedding shots. Keep up the great work, and I highly recommend you to others!

  12. Katie September 3, 2008 at 4:36 pm

    Hey JoAnn – Absolutely love your site and I smile every time I see a new post. And of course seeing Annie’s wedding was a blast too!!!

  13. Mill September 3, 2008 at 5:40 pm

    Congrats Jo on the 1st Anniversary of your blog! It is totally awesome! You totally busted your ass at Annie’s wedding, and your amazing pix show all of your hard work! Cheers to many more bloggin’ years!

  14. Steph September 3, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    Jo!!!

    You and your blog are rockin’ the net! Seriously…I am always blown away by your creativity, your dedication, your drive, your unique perspective and attention to detail (obsess much??? heehee)! Thanks for the constant motivation and inspiration…what a journey! XOXO

  15. Jenn September 10, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    Hi Jo Ann-
    Bummer I missed my chance for the itunes card. But I don’t need it to keep checking in on the blog. Congrats on the 1 year anniversary. I love your new techniques. I am honored to be in your blog several times. As always looking forward to seeing more.
    jenn (mom to aidan & oliver)

Leave a Reply

