jo ann manolis photography

Welcome to the blog of Jo Ann Manolis Photography! I’m a wedding, portrait, and fine art photographer based in Santa Cruz, CA. I’ve created this blog as a means of sharing my work and life with my clients, family, and friends. I’ll be updating it regularly with my latest work, thoughts and ideas regarding photography and art, and links to many fabulous artists and vendors. So, take a look around, enjoy, and leave me a message here if you’re inspired. I can also be reached directly by e-mail via my website: joannmanolisphotography.com, or by phone at: (831)359-7948. Thanks for stopping by!

Christmas Card Photos- A Portrait Session in Corralitos, CA

Now that I’ve been shooting family portraits for a couple of years, I have been blessed to be able to do multiple sessions with the same families. I did this beautiful family’s Christmas card images last year as well. I can’t wait to see which image they choose this year! We started out in the apple orchard, the light is so beautiful this time of year.

Meet the fabulous and VERY busy JH! He was convinced that there was a butterfly in my camera and hee kept running up to me and pointing at my lens and saying “Butterfly!” Here is what I saw in the viewfinder:

I brought some finger puppets along for entertainment. They were a big hit for about 30 seconds.

Shooting into the sun is better than Christmas.

My theory is that JH is the luckiest guy in the world…here is the evidence:

I think that this is my favorite family portrait of the day.

My very favorite thing about photographing kids is that they make the rules and I get to follow their lead. I wasn’t planning on lying down in the dirt, but how else would I have gotten this one?

After the Apple Orchard, we headed over to “The Ranch” and got some fun shots.

I just love this building.

JH is going to be a big brother in a few months…

And then we went for a walk and took advantage of some more amazing light.

My two favorite JH shots of the day, I think.

Dear C, J, & JH-You guys are amazing, thanks for the incredible afternoon. Thanks also for introducing me to “The Ranch” and all it’s charm and beauty! It has been my honor to call you friends and to watch your family grow.

With buckets of Love and Gratitude,

Jo Ann

Leave a Reply

