jo ann manolis photography

Welcome to the blog of Jo Ann Manolis Photography! I’m a wedding, portrait, and fine art photographer based in Santa Cruz, CA. I’ve created this blog as a means of sharing my work and life with my clients, family, and friends. I’ll be updating it regularly with my latest work, thoughts and ideas regarding photography and art, and links to many fabulous artists and vendors. So, take a look around, enjoy, and leave me a message here if you’re inspired. I can also be reached directly by e-mail via my website: joannmanolisphotography.com, or by phone at: (831)359-7948. Thanks for stopping by!

Art Show at Azhar Hair Design

altproc_1In all of the excitement and planning lately, I completely overlooked posting about my current art show (duh!). Here’s the info:

“Postcards from Santa Cruz ” Polariod Transfer Collages by: Jo Ann Manolis

Feb 1st-April 1st

Azhar Hair Design

507 Cedar St. Santa Cruz, CA 95060

Phone: (831) 426-6334

(open Tues-Sat)

Azhar is on the corner of Cedar & Cathcart, just across the street from the Wednesday Farmer’s Market.

Click HERE for a map.

This was a really fun body of work to produce, a work in progress for sure. I’ve been experimenting…dividing digital images up in Photoshop and having each piece of the image converted to slide film. I then exposed the individuals onto Polaroid 669 film (no longer being made, but I’ve been madly stocking up) and re-pieced them together as transfers onto watercolor paper. Pretty time consuming, but really fun. I will definitely share a few pieces as soon as they come down on April 1st. You guessed it, I haven’t photographed any of the pieces or the show itself yet. Pathetic, I know.

Anyhow, if you’re in the neighborhood, drop by Azhar and check it out. Let me know what you think. It’s a really great salon, worth a visit regardless. The images were all taken in Santa Cruz recently but have been displayed in a nostalgic, old-school postcard sort of way. What can I say, I’m totally old school…I’d make every image look old if I could get away with it.

Thanks for stopping by…I ‘m so glad that you visited today!

Leave a Reply

