jo ann manolis photography

Welcome to the blog of Jo Ann Manolis Photography! I’m a wedding, portrait, and fine art photographer based in Santa Cruz, CA. I’ve created this blog as a means of sharing my work and life with my clients, family, and friends. I’ll be updating it regularly with my latest work, thoughts and ideas regarding photography and art, and links to many fabulous artists and vendors. So, take a look around, enjoy, and leave me a message here if you’re inspired. I can also be reached directly by e-mail via my website: joannmanolisphotography.com, or by phone at: (831)359-7948. Thanks for stopping by!

I’m in Love!

…with etsy, that is. It blows me away every time I peruse it…I can’t believe the talent. I have a long list of favorite shops that I’ve been bookmarking and I promise to share it soon. Until then, though…if you love pottery half as much as I do, you must check out Utile Mud, an amazing female potter from St. Paul, Minnesota. Gorgeous wheel-thrown art with amazingly brilliant glazes and interesting color combinations. Did I mention that her work is beautifully photographed? Not that I care about such things…

My favorite part of Utile Mud’s shop is her fabulous profile, where she quotes the great Vincent Van Gogh:

“Your profession is not what brings home your paycheck. Your profession is what you were put on earth to do…with such passion and such intensity that it becomes spiritual in calling”

fish_blog1

gone fishin’…

**EDITED TO ADD: I received my first two pieces from Utile Mud in the mail on Wednesday…a red dinner plate and matching salad plate…they are even more lovely in real life!

3 responses to “I’m in Love!

  1. jenn May 6, 2009 at 11:59 am

    LOVE the quote. So true and I find very fitting for you too.

  2. Kendra May 6, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    BEAUTY!!!! So lovely to see your work blossem, like spring in SC
    Absolutely making it happen, inspiring girl!!!
    love you lots,
    Kendra

Leave a Reply

