jo ann manolis photography

Welcome to the blog of Jo Ann Manolis Photography! I’m a wedding, portrait, and fine art photographer based in Santa Cruz, CA. I’ve created this blog as a means of sharing my work and life with my clients, family, and friends. I’ll be updating it regularly with my latest work, thoughts and ideas regarding photography and art, and links to many fabulous artists and vendors. So, take a look around, enjoy, and leave me a message here if you’re inspired. I can also be reached directly by e-mail via my website: joannmanolisphotography.com, or by phone at: (831)359-7948. Thanks for stopping by!

Athanasia

My Godsister…

has a pet parrot named George

who loves to curse in Greek.

She plays in the Roller Derby,

knit me a hat and a purse last Christmas,

and makes the best chocolate chip-zucchini cookies.

My Godsister gives me lots of good music,

most recently Ziggy Marley.

She named her guinea pig after Arlo Guthrie.

Arlo only eats organic veggies.

She will soon have her own website for her paintings,

and they are something else, I tell you.

She tried hard to dress “normally” when she met with her daughter’s teacher last week.

I don’t know if it worked.

My Godsister’s daughters a think that Hannah Montana is really lame.

and their clothes never match, but in a really good way.

They all like to listen to Cat Stevens and watch reruns of the Muppet Show.

She gave me some seeds from her garden the other day,

heirloom flowers-some from Arlo Guthrie himself.

I don’t know if Monsanto would approve of this.

My Godsister has a phone from the 1950s in her house.

It still works, but the ring is really, really loud.

I am mesmerized by her life…

nesi_blog

8 responses to “Athanasia

  1. Nesi September 17, 2009 at 11:28 am

    You are incredible!!… beautiful, talented, earthy, and my family. I’m “so lucky” to have you in my life!

  2. kc September 17, 2009 at 10:58 pm

    that is beautiful.

  3. joannmanolisphotography September 24, 2009 at 7:18 pm

    OK, I will call you over the weekend, probably Sunday b/c I have a wedding on Sat…is that alright?

Leave a Reply

