jo ann manolis photography

Welcome to the blog of Jo Ann Manolis Photography! I’m a wedding, portrait, and fine art photographer based in Santa Cruz, CA. I’ve created this blog as a means of sharing my work and life with my clients, family, and friends. I’ll be updating it regularly with my latest work, thoughts and ideas regarding photography and art, and links to many fabulous artists and vendors. So, take a look around, enjoy, and leave me a message here if you’re inspired. I can also be reached directly by e-mail via my website: joannmanolisphotography.com, or by phone at: (831)359-7948. Thanks for stopping by!

Happy Birthday Efthemios

It all started when my dad was in hospice…I felt awful and nauseous but figured that it was due to the stress and sadness that I was feeling. After the funeral I headed back to California with a hole in my heart and an ache in my belly. I woke up every day wondering how a loss could feel so much like morning sickness.

Hmmm…

8 months later, we showed up at the hospital and they put us in room 1129…the same room that I had given birth to our first boy 6 years before. At that moment, I knew that everything would be alright. And I was right. He was perfect. And beautiful. And the most amazing gift that our little family could have ever asked for. We are grateful for him every day.

Happy birthday to you, Efthemios. You are the little bird who flew our way just when we needed you the most. Thank you for perching on the branches of my heart when it felt cold and dark.

Life continues on, and it is beautiful.

2 responses to “Happy Birthday Efthemios

  1. Annie September 5, 2011 at 11:19 pm

    Jo, you are so funny and so touching all at once. And the smiles in this photo are perfect. I love those guys. Happy birthday, Mios and Dino!

Leave a Reply

