jo ann manolis photography

Welcome to the blog of Jo Ann Manolis Photography! I’m a wedding, portrait, and fine art photographer based in Santa Cruz, CA. I’ve created this blog as a means of sharing my work and life with my clients, family, and friends. I’ll be updating it regularly with my latest work, thoughts and ideas regarding photography and art, and links to many fabulous artists and vendors. So, take a look around, enjoy, and leave me a message here if you’re inspired. I can also be reached directly by e-mail via my website: joannmanolisphotography.com, or by phone at: (831)359-7948. Thanks for stopping by!

Another year

I always measure life’s progress and movement by our annual summer trip to Tahoe. Pat and I haven’t missed a year since the summer that we first met. We always stay with his parents who live ridiculously close to all things amazing…mountain biking trails, the lake, the pool (recently discovered since children).

Every year the stay is pretty nostalgic for me. The smell of the air, the enormous pine cones, blooming columbines, amazing light that sings to me all afternoon, our favorite pizza place…I could go on and on. I always think about the years past and wonder where we’ll be in our lives next year when we come back. This year I thought about Tahoe the summer of 2004 and how hard it was to walk up the stairs without becoming winded. I remember being at the beach and watching a mother with her crawling baby marveling over the idea that I’d have one of my own in a year. I remember the following year bringing along a smiling, chubby 9 month old and Pat’s family oohing and ahhing over him the entire time.

It was two summers ago that I relished daily long runs on the trails. And last summer, pregnant again, I wistfully remembered the long runs on the trails but settled for short (and slow) mountain bike rides instead, my family patiently waiting for me every few minutes. That was the year that I saw a mama bear with her two bouncing cubs crossing the trail dangerously close to me and my seven month pregnant belly as I plodded away on my bike. I remember stopping frozen, so mesmerized by their beauty that I completely forgot to be afraid. That was also the year that the big guy started swimming and proudly jumped off of the diving board for the first time.

This year was baby #2’s first Tahoe trip…and I couldn’t help but feel nostalgic all over again as I brought another round, smiling baby to the pool, chubby hands splashing in the water. We all rode on the trails that Pat and I have ridden on since we first met and stopped for a photo because the light was perfect and so was everything else.

Thank you, Pat for making my life what it is. Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

