jo ann manolis photography

Welcome to the blog of Jo Ann Manolis Photography! I’m a wedding, portrait, and fine art photographer based in Santa Cruz, CA. I’ve created this blog as a means of sharing my work and life with my clients, family, and friends. I’ll be updating it regularly with my latest work, thoughts and ideas regarding photography and art, and links to many fabulous artists and vendors. So, take a look around, enjoy, and leave me a message here if you’re inspired. I can also be reached directly by e-mail via my website: joannmanolisphotography.com, or by phone at: (831)359-7948. Thanks for stopping by!

family portraits and gettin’ my groove back

I’m just gonna come out and say it…this year was a difficult one. I tried putting on my superwoman cape and jumping back into work with an 8 month old, but it was (duh) harder than I had hoped that it would be. I loved picking up the camera again, it felt good. After awhile it even felt great. Someone once said that every image that a photographer captures is a self portrait and after having my second baby I believe this more than ever. I am a different person now than I was before I had him. Just as I’m still noticing ways that I am different, I’m continuing to observe differences in my photography. It is all an amazing mystery to me…the way that a change within my head and heart is reflected within everything that I produce. I’ll admit to a little bit of stumbling, sort of like getting back on skis after a long hiatus…wobbly legs, a few (or maybe lots of) crashes, and finally slowing down the pace to get back into the groove. It was a lot like that.

While figuring all of this out, I neglected to post more than a few portrait sessions and weddings. Here are a just a few of my favorites from some sessions that never made it as far as the blog:

Thank you, beautiful people. I loved every minute of every session with you. Love and joy to you all in 2012!

Leave a Reply

